The Liguria region with the Regional Law No 12, March 18, 1985 gave life to the system of areas of natural interest – the environment “Bracco – Mesco / Cinque Terre / Montemarcello” through the establishment of protected areas Punta Manara – Punta Moneglia (AP1) and Monte Serro – Punta Mesco ( AP2).

In 1992 was established network Natura 2000 European ecological network born with the directive 43/1992/CEE in order to contribute to the protection of biological diversity in European countries.

The directive 43/1992/CEE, known as the Habitats Directive, find, in fact, some habitats and species that member states are required to maintain to preserve biodiversity. The territory and the sea depths of Deiva Marina have become sites of Community Importance (Sic).